blogger Intreview about writing and blogging

An Interview with Jennifer David(Author and Blogger)

jenyName :Jennifer David

Blog :http://writingsofamrs.wordpress.com/

1. Can you tell us something about your blogging journey. How and when did you enter into blogging? 

I started blogging on April 1st 2013.  April Fool’s Day of all days!  I decided to start a blog to take some time for me.  Something personal, although very public.  I needed to give some attention to my writing.  I felt the need to express myself and I am so thankful that I decided to listen to and respond to the desire.

2. How many hours do you spend per day on your blog(s)?

The amount of time varies depending on what my day entails.  I am very busy with a large family and also a part time job.  If I had it my way I would spend 8 hours a day on the various aspects that go with maintaining blogs, such as writings, social media, correspondence with other bloggers etc.  I’d say now I spend about 10 hours a week.

3.When you’re new to blogging, how did you bring traffic to your sites? What were the WORST mistakes you made as a newbie? Have you ever feel like quitting it?

Hmmm traffic and new bloggers, I spent a lot of time in the beginning readingwriting tips, blogging tips,Traffic,search engine,seo tips other people’s blogs. I took the time to comment and build relationships with people.  If you want people to read your blog, take time out of your day to read others!  The biggest mistake I’ve made is number one setting myself up for a schedule that was hard to maintain, publishing a new post every day for months!  Also, not properly citing a photo image from a copy righted photograph.  By day the photographer  is a copy right lawyer…lol..so that was definitely a learning experience! (He asked me to remove the image)  Make sure you do your research and learn the proper etiquettes of blogging.  It really is a business.

4.    Can you give our readers top blogging success secrets?

Really I don’t think there are any secrets.  Write often, read often, post often.  Read and comment on other peoples blogs.  Respond to your readers genuinely and sincerely when they leave comments.  Tag your posts correctly and put them into proper categories.  Tag your images.  Use engaging images on your blog.  Make the lay out of your blog interesting and welcoming.  Use social media, facebook, Twitter, Google +, Pinterest.  Engage your readers with interesting posts.  Be fresh and new.  Be yourself.

5. What motivates your writing?

Life motivates my writing. I write about what matters to me, what I am feeling and what is going on around me.

6. What are your favorite blogs and why?

I have so many favorite blogs it would be hard to pick out just a few!  I like people that write with passion.  When I walk away from a post I feel like I know them.  They leave a little bit of themselves in their blog posts, mind you I am a fan of poetry so that might account for my love of voice and passion..

7.How did you react to this success?

I am always shocked that people want to read my blog posts and my poetry.  Most especially now that I have a book and that people actually want to buy it!  I never imagined that anyone would want to read my blogs, I always thought it was about me and for me to let out my thoughts etc.  and well I suppose it still is.  I think people like that.

8. What are the next steps in publishing your book?

As with any book marketing it will have to happen now but I’m actually already focused on releasing my second anthology in the Vault work and I’m also considering a few other book ideas.  I want to release the ‘storetries’ that I created on my blog with fellow writers.  So all of that along with maintaining my blogs will definitely keep me busy over the next few months!

9.Do you find that blogging helps you grow as a writer, or does it fulfill a different creative goal?

I love blogging because I get instant feed back from my community of readers.  It gives me something to gauge with.  To know what my readers enjoy and respond to.  In that regard it is very different than writing say a book with no feedback until you release it…   Blogging keeps you writing!

10.You are very open in your blog about your personal life.  What has this experience been like?

I have been very open.  We live in a day and age where everyone loves reality T.V and You Tube etc.  I think people want to know who you are and have a peek into peoples lives.  I think it’s the way of media right now.  So if you can share a little of the real you I think people really respond to it…  I haven’t had any bad feedback or weird stalker stories so I’m good! lol

11.What feedback have you received from your blog followers?

My community has had nothing but positive comments and things to share with me.  I love my blogging community and readers.  I wish I had more time to get to know them all!

Thanks!
Jennifer David
(Writings of a Mrs)

Thanks jennifer for making and spending time with me and our blog.All the best for your future writing and blogging

Thanks and Regards

Share Your Articles Team andCyril P Abraham

https://www.facebook.com/cyrilpabraham

