The Battle of Mankind

‘An eye for an eye will make the whole world blind’ – M.K. Gandhi

When I was a young girl, I hadn’t any idea what this phrase entailed. Every time I read it, I was always left thinking to myself, “what exactly is Gandhi Bapu trying to tell us here?”. Then, a few months ago, as I was reading a book, the meaning of it just came upon me. And yes,it is a pretty straight forward concept.

Througout the day, I thought about this phrase. An eye for an eye will make the whole world blind. An eye for an eye. Bam! My mind immediately diverted to the situation in Syria, and the plans of Obama.

Obama wants to bomb Syria. Why? Because of the thousands of people that died after the chemical attacks. He is taking an eye for an eye.

The minute Obama attacks Syria, there is a high chance of Iran attacking America. An eye for an eye. The cycle will undoubtedly carry on.

And, slowly by slowly, the world will be left with nothing. Why? Because mankind is much too focused on the notion of ‘an eye for an eye’.

Many of us have spoken this phrase, have accepted and understood its consequences. Yet it is practised day in and day out, in a vast number of situations. Our kind kill people for killing people because killing people is wrong. People are judged for judging people because judging people is wrong. It is a cycle that will never end, not in this day and age.

The one thing that struck me the most is that we carry on living, under the impression that mankind and its livelihood will improve, when in reality it is mankind that is in fact losing the battle.

