Writers: Open the Wings of your Imagination

Don’t devalue imagination.

Description begins in the writer’s imagination, but should finish in the reader’s.”― Stephen King, On Writing

Albert Einstein, one of the most brilliant scientists of the last century, valued imagination over knowledge. For a brainy, intellectual, Einstein had a lot to say about imagination:

Imagination is every thing. It is the preview of life’s coming attractions”

“I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.”

… everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. ~Sylvia Plath

Antaole France adds: “To know is to nothing at all; to imagine is everything.”-

Writing became such a process of discovery that I couldn’t wait to get to work in the morning:  I wanted to know what I was going to say.  ~Sharon O’Brien

I have always been an oral storyteller

Whenever I started to record our hilarious life on paper,

I wrote stilted mummy drivel.

your-words-flow-like

It has been barely a year since I have discovered

a creative fountain of written words buried deep within me.

Suddenly an idea springs up from my inner self,

initiating a flow of words, assimilated emotions, reflections and connections

that seem to take on a life of their own.

This entire process is joyful and life-giving,

like writing with my fingers, not my brain.

